

The Honourable Deb Frecklington MP Attorney-General and Minister for Justice Minister for Integrity



1 William Street Brisbane Q 4000 GPO Box 149 Brisbane Q 4001 Telephone +61.7 3719 7170 Email attorney general@ministerial.gid.gov.au

Our ref: 573704/2, 7199680

2 4 MAR 2025

Mr Steven Miles MP
Leader of the Opposition
TheLeader@opposition.gld.gov.au

Dear Mr Miles Sheen

I am writing to consult with you regarding the appointment of a Chairperson and a Commissioner to the Queensland Redistribution Commission (QRC) of the Electoral Commission of Queensland (ECQ).

Section 6 of the *Electoral Act 1992* (the Act) provides for the establishment of the ECQ and for the appointment of commissioners. When performing its functions under Part 3 of the Act, the ECQ is to be comprised of a Chairperson, the Electoral Commissioner and one other Commissioner. The Chairperson and other Commissioner are to be appointed by the Governor in Council and hold office on a part-time basis.

Part 3 of the Act relates to electoral districts and electoral redistributions. When performing its functions under this part, the ECQ is known as the QRC. Section 38 of the Act mandates that an electoral redistribution is to occur either one year after the third general election which was held after the last electoral redistribution, or seven and a half years after the last electoral redistribution was finalised; whichever is the later.

Mr Pat Vidgen PSM, Electoral Commissioner, has advised the need for an electoral redistribution arose from 16 December 2024. Due to the state election, the appointment of the commissioners were held until after the election and a considered process has now been undertaken. It is intended to have the QRC constituted as soon as practicable to avoid delays with the electoral distribution.

Section 6(7)(c) of the *Electoral Act 1992* provides that a person may be appointed as the chairperson or non-judicial appointee only if the Minister has consulted with each member of the Legislative Assembly recognised as the leader of a political party represented in the Assembly about the proposed appointment as well as with the relevant Parliamentary Committee.

Following consultation with the Honourable Justice Helen Bowskill, Chief Justice of the Supreme Court of Queensland and His Honour Brian Devereaux, Chief Judge of the District Court of Queensland, it is proposed that Mr Gregory Koppenol be appointed as the Chairperson of the QRC.

Mr Koppenol holds a Bachelor of Laws (Honours) from the University of Technology (1984). Mr Koppenol worked at the Public Trust Office prior to being admitted as a barrister of the Supreme Court of Queensland in 1983. Mr Koppenol was admitted as a barrister of High Court of Australia and worked as a practice as a barrister from 1984 to 1999. Mr Koppenol was appointed as the President of the Land and Resources Tribunal in 1999 and served as a part-time member of the Land Court of Queensland from 2004 to 2007. Mr Koppenol served as a Judge of the District Court from 2007 to 2020. Mr Koppenol's recommended appointment satisfies section 7(5) of the Act.

It is also proposed that Mr John Sosso, Director-General of the Department of State Development, Infrastructure and Planning (DSDIP) be appointed as the nonjudicial member of the QRC.

Mr Sosso holds a Bachelor of Law and Public Administration from the University of Queensland. Mr Sosso served as a private solicitor and joined the Policy and Legislation division of the Department of Justice (DoJ) in 1984. Mr Sosso served as a senior public servant of various Queensland Government departments prior to being appointed as the Deputy Director-General of the Department of the Premier and Cabinet between 1996 and 1998. Mr Sosso served as a member and deputy president of the National Native Title Tribunal between 2000 and 2012 prior to being appointed as the Director-General of the DoJ from 2012 to 2015. Mr Sosso was the Deputy President of the Commonwealth Administrative Appeals Tribunal prior to being appointed as the Director-General of the DSDIP in 2024. Mr Sosso's recommended appointment satisfies section 7(6) of the Act.

A copy of the biographical information for both nominations is attached.

I would appreciate receiving any views on the proposed appointment by 31 March 2025.

If you have any questions in relation to the above, I invite you to contact my Chief of Staff, Ben Murphy, on (07) 3719 7170 or at Ben.Murphy@ministerial.gld.gov.au.

Yours sincerely

DEB FRECKLINGTON MP

Attorney-General and Minister for Justice

Minister for Integrity

Enc. Biographical information